Edition: International | Greek
MENU

Home » Dossiers

Taiwan: A new window to the World

The landmark skyscraper 'Taipei 101' has been for a long time the highest building in the world, dominating the skyline of Taipei, the capital of the Republic of China (Taiwan) until it was surpassed in height by the Burj Khalifa in Dubai on October 1, 2009.


The landmark skyscraper 'Taipei 101' has been for a long time the highest building in the world, dominating the skyline of Taipei, the capital of the Republic of China (Taiwan) until it was surpassed in height by the Burj Khalifa in Dubai on October 1, 2009. May be this surpassing of the '101' is symbolic for the slow down of the economical growth of the island. The global financial crisis is not the only reason for it.


Export-oriented service industry is a crucial part of the Taiwan’s economic development in the past several decades. In the past, the strategies to access our major markets are import-substitution and export-oriented. In recent years, mainland China has become our major base for product manufacture.

Cross-Strait relations are the lifeline of Taiwan’s survival and development

In this interview with EBR, the President of TAITRA describes the external trades’ Status Quo, talks about the bilateral economic and legal relations with mainland China and explains how his country deals with critical issues such us labor opportunities, climate change and decreasing birthrate.

Amanpour also questioned Ma about possible plans to meet Chinese leader Hu Jintao, but the president said there were no such plans at present because the time for such a meeting was not right.

Taiwan-U.S.-China ties now best in 60 years: President Ma

In an interview with CNN, Ma said that since he was sworn in on May 2008, he has made great efforts to ease tensions across the Taiwan Strait by inking 12 cooperative agreements with China, successfully turning the Taiwan Strait from a flash point into a peaceful and prosperous area in Asia Pacific

Prime-Minister Wu Den-yih with N. Peter Kramer, editor in chief of EBR

Taiwan’s Prime-Minister: ′Time is not ripe for political issues in cross-Taiwan Strait talks′

During our visit to the Republic of China (Taiwan), Prime-Minister Wu Den-yih kindly offered an exclusive interview opportunity to European Business Review.

In the shadow of the human tragedy in Haiti, in a very discrete way, Taiwan and (the Peoples Republic of) China play diplomatic poker. Haiti is one of the 23 states in the world which do not recognise China and has diplomatic ties with Taiwan.

Taiwan’s aid donation for Haiti

Taiwan (Republic of China) pledged a $5 million donation shortly after its Caribbean ally Haiti was struck by the deadly earthquake January 12. After meeting the Haitian Prime Minister Jean-Max Bellerive, President MaYing-jeou announced that Taiwan will increase its aid donation to $10 million.

‘Taiwan wants to become party to Clean Development Mechanism’

In an interview with European Business Review, Patrick Wang, information director of the Taiwan Representation to the EU in Brussels, made clear that Taiwan (Republic of China) seeks engagement in corporate carbon credit trade via the Clean Development Mechanism.

MORE ARTICLES

‘Taiwan wants to become party to Clean Development Mechanism’

By: N. Peter Kramer | Monday, December 14, 2009

In an interview with European Business Review, Patrick Wang, information director of the Taiwan Representation to the EU in Brussels, made clear that Taiwan (Republic of China) seeks engagement in corporate carbon credit trade via the Clean Development Mechanism.

Dr. Lyushun Shen, the Taiwanese Ambassador to the EU

‘Both sides of Taiwan Strait can learn from the EU integration process’

By: N. Peter Kramer | Monday, November 9, 2009

Dr. Lyushun Shen, the Taiwanese Ambassador to the EU, was recently appointed to the position of Deputy Foreign Minister and has, meanwhile, swapped Brussels for Taipei. European Business Review (EBR) was offered the opportunity of an exclusive interview two weeks before his departure.

Why Taiwan-EU relations are improving

Why Taiwan-EU relations are improving

By: N. Peter Kramer | Thursday, June 18, 2009

Two recent press releases from CNA, the Taiwanese news agency (Taipei), make it clear that the relationship between the Republic of China (Taiwan) and the European Union is expanding.

Taiwan: the Asia-Pacific Peacemaker

Taiwan: the Asia-Pacific Peacemaker

By: Ma Ying-jeou, President of the Republic of China (Taiwan) | Monday, April 13, 2009

Glorious October: A New Start for Taiwan

Glorious October: A New Start for Taiwan

By: Vanessa Shih, Minister of the Government Information Office, Taiwan | Tuesday, October 21, 2008

President’s pragmatic diplomacy

President’s pragmatic diplomacy

By: N. Peter Kramer | Monday, September 1, 2008

New Taiwanese President wants peace with China

New Taiwanese President wants peace with China

By: N. Peter Kramer | Monday, March 24, 2008

EU Actually

EU – China Summit : Merkel – Von der Leyen – Michel vs Xi

N. Peter KramerBy: N. Peter Kramer

September 14. While the initial summit lost its official in-person character due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 3 EU leaders and the Chinese leader attended a virtual meeting via videoconference

View 01/2020 2020 Digital edition

Magazine

Current Issue

01/2020 2020

View past issues
Subscribe
Advertise
Digital edition

Europe

SURE: financial support to help protect jobs and workers affected by the pandemic

SURE: financial support to help protect jobs and workers affected by the pandemic

The Commission welcomes the activation of the SURE instrument, which will provide up to €100 billion in financial support to help protect jobs and workers affected by the coronavirus pandemic.

Business

3 questions for leaders using tech to make the world a better place

3 questions for leaders using tech to make the world a better place

We’re currently tackling the biggest global public health crisis in a century. We will need to act decisively and rapidly if we are to address this crisis head on and rebuild and reconfigure our economies and societies for a prosperous, inclusive and sustainable future

MARKET INDICES

Powered by Investing.com
All contents © Copyright EMG Strategic Consulting Ltd. 1997-2020. All Rights Reserved   |   Home Page  |   Disclaimer  |   Website by Theratron