Edition: International | Greek
MENU

Home » Interviews

UNESCO’s Assistant Director-General for Culture, Ernesto Ottone R.

"The COVID-19 pandemic is forcing the culture sector to adapt", states the UNESCO’s Assistant Director-General for Culture, Ernesto Ottone R.

It is no surprise that 2020 has been a very challenging year for the culture sector worldwide. The cultural and creative industries are among the most severely impacted with more than 7 million jobs affected in Europe

Karen Donfried is the President of the German Marshall Fund of the United States.

GMF President: ‘The coronavirus is accelerating many trends that were there before’

By: EBR | Thursday, April 30, 2020

Nationalist responses to the spread of the coronavirus have accelerated the rift in the already strained transatlantic relationship. However, there is reason to be optimistic, as the pandemic is likely to highlight the importance of cooperation, GMF President Karen Donfried told

It goes without saying that it is the basic background for a creative dialogue that as we believe is the condition of the achievement of a solution, to say it differently, I personally can’t agree more that this issue cannot be solved just with a decision of a certain authority but only with the refinement of the cultural diplomacy and the fertile dialogue.

A decade of paying homage to the eternal ancient symbol of Acropolis via its Museum

By: EBR | Friday, January 10, 2020

An exclusive interview with Mr. Dimitrios Pantermalis, President / Board of Directors of the Acropolis Museum

 Opera is a universal language capable of bringing together diverse and distant cultures. We notice that from the Baroque era till today. Music always helps break down the communication barriers and has the magic of speaking directly to each person regardless of their level of education and their cultural characteristics. I am delighted that through my music at Fonissa I was able to bring elements of Greek music into a dialogue with contemporary European music.

The Allegro of Greek National Opera

By: EBR | Friday, January 10, 2020

Few directors in the opera world are quite as iconic as Giorgos Koumendakis. While his style, with its numerous distinctions and of always high status collaborations along with slow movements of prestigious accomplishments that look like a kaleidoscope of his successes and, may not be for everyone, but there is no denying that he has a clear vision for how he sees the opera. He’s worked in many major artistic programmes and he’s still going strong

 Our future objectives, except for any other major scientific avocations with the archival and permanent historical collections and our care for the spotlight, viewing and their safe keeping, is also our continuous offer to the contemporary art by organizing and presenting exhibitions, but also in the field of music, dance and theater with the Organization and presentation of relevant always high quality cultural events.

Cosmopolitan and Festive Art in the tiny island of Hydra – IAMY the Riviera of Culture

By: EBR | Friday, March 22, 2019

Exclusive Interview with the Director of IAMY Ntina Adamopoulou in EBR: The "architect" of the EU Jean Monnet had once confessed that "if he could re-start Europe, he would start from culture ...!!" , she mentions and analyses

MoMA is devoted to today’s most experimental, thought-provoking contemporary art. “Extrait de Culture” by EBR is devoted to today’s most experimental museum proposals, thought-provoking art interview reports.  Founded in 1929 as an educational institution, The Museum of Modern Art is dedicated to being the foremost museum of modern art in the world

EBR strolling around The Museum of Modern Art of NYC

By: EBR | Thursday, January 10, 2019

Charles White: A Retrospective is the first major museum survey devoted to the artist in over 30 years. on MoMA’s Floor 3 through January 13, 2019

MORE ARTICLES

Of course, citizens ought to vote and I encourage everyone to do so, but not that many will. Hence, how can one reach any solid political conclusions, especially since it is often the case that it is the devoted single issue voters who tend to participate? Second, despite sharing the same name, the European Parliament is not equivalent to national Parliaments.

The puzzle of world economy & the labyrinth of EP elections

By: EBR | Thursday, January 10, 2019

The end of crisis - US: growth vs EU: forces of nationalism and populism

Ambassador Ikic-Bohm: We need to strengthen the citizens’ trust in the EU

By: EBR | Thursday, December 20, 2018

The Ambassador of the Republic of Austria to the Hellenic Republic, Andrea Ikic-Bohm, talks in an exclusive interview at EBR about the current economic challenges and business opportunities in Greece, the reinforcement of bilateral relations and the European elections 2019

George Patoulis at EBR: Economy and the ability of Banks to finance Greek Business

By: EBR | Thursday, December 20, 2018

George Patoulis President of KEDE gave an exclusive interview at EBR regarding the Greek Economy and the ability of the Greek Banks to finance the real economy

He dominates China’s political system, unlike the American president, who faces very strong checks and balances from Congress and the US Supreme Court at the federal level, as well as from large states like California that in effect can impose environmental and other standards on American industry

Professor Papasotiriou at EBR: “China’s president is likely to be more influential in shaping the twenty-first century”

By: EBR | Thursday, December 20, 2018

The director of the Institute of International Relations, Mr. Harry Papasotiriou, in an exclusive interview with the “European Business Review (EBR)” talking about Europe’s top agenda

Weber at EBR: Europe is not about budgets but most of all about people

By: EBR | Wednesday, December 19, 2018

The Chairman of the EPP Group in the European Parliament and Spitzenkandidat for the top office, Manfred Weber, talks in an exclusive interview at European Business Review (EBR) and the Journalist Eirini Sotiropoulou about his political priorities as well as the future of Europe.

The world is facing many challenges including global debt, trade wars, banking and financial systems and Eurozone problems not to mention major upcoming disruptions like the 4th industrial revolution and the digital world. Although debt levels have risen again to new highs and global growth is slowing, the banks are now better capitalized and regulated to face new challenges

AmCham President: “We are now better prepared to deal with a new financial crisis”

By: EBR | Thursday, December 13, 2018

On the occasion of the “29th The Greek Economy Conference” held in Athens, the President of the American Hellenic Chamber of Commerce, Mr. Simos Anastasopoulos, gave an exclusive interview at the European Business Review

Dijsselbloem: Greek government will gradually access markets more and more

By: EBR | Tuesday, October 23, 2018

The Greek government will be able to gradually have more and more access to markets as the end of the bailout, the current economic outlook and a sound budget allow Greece to regain its financial independence, former Eurogroup President Jeroen Dijsselbloem

"Culture is a domain with a humane dimension, a common "language" for all Europeans and clearly culture supported temporal life of Europe. The need for the EU and its common course is well grounded in culture, and the EU looks forward to its catalytic benefits. Therefore the care and effort to stimulate and promote culture should be continuous" outlines Mrs. Adamopoulou Director of The Hydra Museum Historical Archives

The Hydra Museum Historical Archives: Mecca of Arts & Letters

By: EBR | Monday, October 1, 2018

Exclusive Interview with the Director of IAMY Ntina Adamopoulou in EBR: The "architect" of the EU Jean Monnet had once confessed that "if he could re-start Europe, he would start from culture ...!!" , she mentions and analyses

Visiting the MCA visitors are being offered a comprehensive view of the Cycladic and ancient Greek civilization. Leaving aside a strictly scientific exhibition method a visitor will enjoy a short tour on scenes of daily life in antiquity.

"My love for Art: Natura" states the Director of the Museum of Cycladic Art

By: EBR | Friday, July 20, 2018

Mr. Nikos Stampolidis, Professor and Director of MCA in an exclusive interview

It is a Museum that despite its history makes a new start in its new building and it makes its steps for a more extrovert international direction. It is very “attractive” to follow these steps and observe an institution unveiling its core, its collection in its new permanent space although it has a history behind it. In addition, contemporary art is always interesting and the audiences that choose to discover it are increasing, this is my feeling from our Museum and all the other Museums and contemporary spaces I visit abroad.

EMST: the Chandelier of contemporary art and modernism

By: EBR | Friday, July 20, 2018

Exclusive Interview with the Director of the Museum of Contemporary Arts in Athens

There is a relatively stable number of visitors each year which shows trust in our choices. If I had to mention specifics, on the whole there have been a stable number of visitors across all of our exhibitions, but an increased influx has been noted for the more widely known artists.

Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA) in Andros

By: EBR | Friday, July 20, 2018

The blue cultural germ of the Aegean - Exclusive Interview with the Director of the MOCA, Dr. Kiriakos Koutsomallis

In our opinion, as long as the European Commission started and set a horizon this summer to launch formal negotiations with North Macedonia and Albania, we will have to deliver the promise we made.

Greek FM: Europe must keep its word to North Macedonia and Albania

By: EBR | Monday, June 25, 2018

EXCLUSIVE / EU capitals should keep their word and open accession negotiations with North Macedonia and Albania at the 28-29 June summit, Greek Minister of Foreign Affairs Nikos Kotzias told EURACTIV.com in a wide-ranging interview

Arab-Greek relations, whether on an official or peoples’ level, are considered exemplary in every way and the reason is that this relation has its roots deep into history and throughout this history there were many positive encounters. Lately, we are witnessing interest a growing flow of Arab investment to Greece. Equally, there is increase in the trade balance between the two sides. However, Greek companies should take the major credit as they have managed, in spite of the crisis, to be resilient and penetrate new markets in the Arab world and successfully created a competitive edge for their products.

Arab-Hellenic Chamber: Greece will always maintain its position in the Arab world

By: EBR | Wednesday, May 30, 2018

The vital role of Greece in strengthening the business and economic relations with the Arab world highlighted the President of the Arab-Hellenic Chamber of Commerce & Development, Harris Geronikolas, in an exclusive interview at EBR

That was done by doing big campaigns in the affected countries. And what was amazing is when those campaigns were held, people would stand in line in temperatures over 40 degrees Celsius, or hotter, for hours, to be sure that they and their family members got vaccines against epidemic meningitis because every one of those communities had been affected by meningitis. Every one of those families, every one of those parents knew how important it was to get this protection.

Q&A: What would happen in a world without vaccines?

By: EBR | Wednesday, April 25, 2018

One of the things that vaccines make possible is the eradication of disease

Pages: Next

EU Actually

Joe Biden and his catnip effect on the EU

N. Peter KramerBy: N. Peter Kramer

‘It is a new beginning for the EU-US global partnership’, tweeted (yes, she does too) Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission, after she had a phone call with US President-elect Joe Biden

View 03/2020 2020 Digital edition

Magazine

Current Issue

03/2020 2020

View past issues
Subscribe
Advertise
Digital edition

Europe

Can the EU Solve the Budget and Rule-of-Law Crisis?

Can the EU Solve the Budget and Rule-of-Law Crisis?

Hungary and Poland have vetoed the next EU budget in protest of a new rule-of-law conditionality. What instruments and treaties can Europe use to circumvent Budapest and Warsaw’s hostage-taking?

Business

How secure is your data? 3 predictions and 3 protections in the age of hybrid work

How secure is your data? 3 predictions and 3 protections in the age of hybrid work

Covid-19 introduced a paradigm shift in working culture. The new era of the “hybrid employee” has required a recalibration of how organizations provide secure, productive and digitally enabled environments for their employees

MARKET INDICES

Powered by Investing.com
All contents © Copyright EMG Strategic Consulting Ltd. 1997-2020. All Rights Reserved   |   Home Page  |   Disclaimer  |   Website by Theratron