Edition: International | Greek
MENU

Home » Interviews

Sketch by Dimitris Georgopalis

Political humor through the eyes of renowned Greek cartoonists

By: EBR | Monday, September 25, 2017

The first decade of the 21st century was a transition period for the journalist profession

Interview with Ursula Mathar, VP BMW Group

By: EBR | Friday, August 18, 2017

Climate Action caught up with Ursula Mathar, VP BMW Group ahead of the Sustainable Innovation Forum, organised in official partnership with UN Environment alongside COP23 in Bonn on 13-14 November 2017

Many companies and investors came out of the 2015 Paris climate talks with renewed vigor in those efforts, yet today we face additional challenges. The president’s decision to pull out of the Paris Agreement significantly reduces the world’s chances of stemming the effects of climate change. It is more important than ever to ensure that investors continue to advocate for corporate sustainability reporting because if we cannot measure it, then we cannot engage. By encouraging the adoption of voluntary standards under the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board, corporations will be able to measure their use of carbon and overall sustainability. This will provide investment funds, including CalPERS and CalSTRS, with an important tool to identify corporations lacking a reasonable sustainability plan that addresses long-term risks.

Interview with California State Controller Betty T. Yee

By: EBR | Friday, July 28, 2017

Climate Action caught up with California State Controller Betty T. Yee on scaling up low carbon investment and her participation in the Sustainable Investment Forum

Nikos Pappas: ”We should show our partners and ourselves and send a message to society that we will not repeat these mistakes.”

Greek minister: With progressive federalism EU will regain citizens’ trust

By: EBR | Wednesday, July 26, 2017

In order for Europe to address the current governance issue and convince citizens that it works in their interest it should turn to a left-wing progressive federalist model, Nikos Pappas told EURACTIV.com in an interview

A new world has been emerging in the last 3 or 4 years. First of all, more and more pension funds are realising that at some point, their fiduciary duty requires their taking stock of climate change. If climate change is a risk, how can you justify not paying attention to that risk? You could be brought to court by a contributor that will realise some day that you knew there was a risk and you did nothing to mitigate it. Three years ago, the Risky Business Report clearly stated that climate change was a risk for business.

Interview with Philippe Desfossés, CEO of ERAFP and Vice Chair of IIGCC

By: EBR | Thursday, July 6, 2017

Climate Action caught up with Philippe Desfossés, Chief Executive Officer of ERAFP and Vice Chair of IIGCC, on scaling up low carbon investment and his participation in the Sustainable Investment Forum

”In many countries, what makes personal pensions products attractive are the tax incentives the state provides. What we will recommend is to provide the same tax incentives the member states are offering to the national pensions products, to ensure that users also have tax benefits when they invest in it.  We hope that the proposal helps us to achieve our double aim of providing an investment product, so people can save for their pensions, and put those savings to a productive use by providing an additional source of financing for the real economy.”

Dombrovskis: ‘There is appetite for a pan-European pensions product’

By: EBR | Thursday, June 29, 2017

The European Commission will propose a new pan-European personal pension today (29 June)

South – East Mediterranean region is a very important strategic partner for the United States. There are a number of military installations in places like Greece, such as Souda Bay in Crete and others, but I think as every new situation with new administration, people wait to see what will happen. Anyway, it is been noted that the current President of the United States does not have potentially very positive views of the European Union as a whole but we will have to see what his policies are dictating. Generally, United States and Europe are very close allies and I hope that this will continue.

Concordia Europe Summit: Building a culture of leadership

By: EBR | Tuesday, June 6, 2017

On the occasion of the CONCORDIA EUROPE SUMMIT taking place in Athens, Greece on June 6-7 2017, the European Business Review had the chance to speak with Mr. Nicholas Logothetis, Executive Board Member at the Libra Group and Co-Founder and Chairman of the Board of Concordia

In his keynote speech before EU policymakers and businessmen, Soros agreed with the bloc’s leadership that the project is in the midst of an “existential crisis”. “Most Europeans of my generation were supporters of further integration. Subsequent generations came to regard the EU as an enemy that deprives them of a secure and promising future,” he lamented. After listing the challenges the European Union faces, both internally and externally, Soros claimed that the EU needs to be “radically reinvented”. Although he insisted that the EU fundamental law is “outdated”, Soros agreed with German Finance Minister Wolfgang Schäuble in saying that a treaty change now is “impossible”, and could materialise “only in the distant future”. “The process of disintegration has lasted a decade. It may take another decade to rebuild trust and reestablish a willingness to cooperate,” he predicted.

Soros: Britain could reunite with the EU before the divorce is completed

By: EBR | Thursday, June 1, 2017

Investor and philanthropist George Soros said today (1 June) that the EU should use Brexit as a “catalyst for introducing far-reaching reforms”, transforming itself into an organisation that Britain will want to rejoin before the divorce is completed

There are some policies that need to be pushed forward at the national level. It is not a matter for the Commission. Especially social policies. The Commission has other issues to deal with: think infrastructure, security, defence. That is where the common power comes from.

Tata CEO: Europe should unleash the Jugaad mindset

By: EBR | Monday, May 29, 2017

To manage change and transform economies, affluent countries need to experiment fast and roll out new models that enable them to grow in a more innovative way, Amit Bajaj stated, stressing the need for social innovation

All growth in transport is to be covered by public transport, walking or bicycling, and these transport modes get priority over the car. In 2016, for the first time, more daily trips were made by public transport than by private cars. To be able to accommodate the increased volume of passengers Oslo is planning a new metro tunnel, a new tramline and increased capacity on existing lines. How we finance public transport infrastructure in Oslo is worth mentioning as a large proportion is financed through the toll ring charges.

Interview with Raymond Johansen, Governing Mayor of Oslo

By: EBR | Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Climate Action caught up with Raymond Johansen, Governing Mayor of Oslo, Norway, on scaling up low carbon investment and his participation in the Sustainable Investment Forum 2017

 Communicating science is one of the main goals of Starmus and Leonov underlines how important it is for children at a very early age to gain at least the basic knowledge about space.

Exclusive interview with Aleksei Leonov, the first man to walk in space

By: EBR | Wednesday, May 17, 2017

EBR had the honour of interviewing, on May 11 in Brussels, the heroic cosmonaut, former Commander of the Soviet Union’s space missions and an exceptional self-taught artist Aleksei Leonov during the special launch event of Starmus IV** festival

I asked Donald Trump, if he becomes the next president of America, what are his plans during his first 100 days in office. This is his answer: “Appoint judges who will uphold our Constitution – this is so important”

Third debate not important anymore?

By: EBR | Wednesday, October 19, 2016

The final presidential debate of 2016 is one day away, and the Trump campaign seems more excited than ever

The proposed Regulation aims to provide more opportunities to customers: it addresses the problem of customers not being able to buy products and services from traders located in a different Member State, or being discriminated in accessing the best prices or sales conditions compared to nationals or residents.

EBR interviews Vice-President Ansip

By: EBR | Friday, September 16, 2016

Digital Single Market: "Across the EU online sales are growing by 22% per year!"

Ecommerce Europe recognises that the proposal for a parcel delivery regulation has the potential to help creating a level playing field for competing postal-, courier- and express operators and thereby in the end for online merchants in the European Union (EU).

Marlene ten Ham: ‘The e-commerce sector is booming and needs a policy framework that fits the future’.

By: N. Peter Kramer | Friday, September 16, 2016

Ecommerce Europe is the association representing 25,000+ companies selling goods and/or services online to consumers in Europe. European Business Review had an exclusive interview with the Secretary General of the association, Mrs Marlene ten Ham

He especially objected the US paying so much of the NATO bill, saying that the allies should “pay up or get out”; he refuses to see the US as the “world’s policeman”.  In a town hall meeting in Wisconsin Trump said: “maybe NATO will dissolve and that’s OK for me, not at all the worst thing in the world.”

Donald Trump, an exclusive interview!

By: EBR | Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Donald Trump is convinced that the Republican National Convention (July 18-21, in Cleveland Oio) will choose him as their Presidential candidate

The demand by Alexander Zakharchenko, who has been leader of the self-proclaimed Donetsk People’s Republic since August is a "clear cut" message for Brussels: "I would say to the EU – let`s start talking, let`s start a dialogue.

Leader of Ukrainian breakaway republic calls on EU to "do everything possible" to prevent further escalation

By: EBR | Monday, May 18, 2015

An exclusive interview with Alexander Zakharchenko by Martin Banks.

Brussels Commissioner Alain Hutchinson (left) with President of the Brussels Region Rudy Vervoort

Brussels is complicated, but the EU institutions too

By: N. Peter Kramer | Monday, April 27, 2015

An interview with Mr. Alain Hutchinson, Brussels Commissioner for Europe.

Peter Kramer, Editor in Chief for EBR, is being interviewed over the Greek national elctions.

Germany shows an immoral attitude towards Greece’s problems

By: EBR | Friday, January 23, 2015

Dutch political journalist Hans Kriek interviews N. Peter Kramer, editor-in-chief of European Business Review, and president of the Press Club Brussels-Europe, on the possible political and economic implications if Greece’s far left party SYRIZA, led by Alexis Tsipras, wins the election.

Our role initially was to build capabilities and develop strategy that served multiple brands in multiple regions.

Developing a global digital strategy

By: EBR | Monday, December 15, 2014

"What I saw was that we had hundreds of different websites and digital platforms that we were operating upon globally. If you want to get a message across globally on your owned assets, you need to do that in the same way across the world.".

"As I see it, the wish for a European-Chinese Partnership is mutual. Both partners are longing for a better cooperation. However, for Europe, foreign policy is both, about values and interests. This is what makes the functioning of the EU-China partnership at times ineffective and reciprocally provoking."

Ingeborg Graessle: Chinese Economic Power an Opportunity for Europe

By: EBR | Tuesday, August 19, 2014

A senior member of the European Parliament´s China Delegation says that growing Chinese economic power is "first and foremost" an opportunity for the Chinese people and also for Europe.

Pages: Previous Next

Editor’s Column

The EP cacophony after Lagarde’s hearing

N. Peter KramerBy: N. Peter Kramer

On Wednesday Christine Lagarde had her ‘hearing’ in the EP’s Committee on Economic and Monetary Affairs

View 02/2019 2019 Digital edition

Magazine

Current Issue

02/2019 2019

View past issues
Subscribe
Advertise
Digital edition

Europe

Concerns and expectations for the new Commission

Concerns and expectations for the new Commission

The incoming President of the European Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, presented the new structure of the Commission, the body of the Union’s executive power and the responsibilities of the Commissioners

Business

Here’s how a trade war between the US and China could reshape the global order

Here’s how a trade war between the US and China could reshape the global order

US-China trade tensions have negatively affected consumers as well as many producers in both countries. The tariffs have reduced trade between the US and China, but the bilateral trade deficit remains broadly unchanged

MARKET INDICES

Powered by Investing.com
All contents © Copyright EMG Strategic Consulting Ltd. 1997-2019. All Rights Reserved   |   Home Page  |   Disclaimer  |   Website by Theratron