Edition: International | Greek
MENU

Home » Europe

In a sombre 10-minute video, full of historical and cultural references and attempting to recall General de Gaulle’s 18 June appeal, the far-right polemicist declared that he was running for president.

Far-right Zemmour makes Le Pen look normal

After several months of artificial suspense, radical right Eric Zemmour officially entered the 2022 French presidential election race to “save” the country on Tuesday (30 November)

Countries and companies have seized on green hydrogen – a fuel obtained by passing renewably-produced electricity through water to split the element from oxygen – as a way to cut greenhouse gas emissions, especially from heavy industry.

‘Let’s reach for the stars’: EU aims for green hydrogen below €2/kg by 2030

By: EBR | Tuesday, November 30, 2021

The cost of producing green hydrogen with renewable energy is set to fall and the capacity to produce it in Europe and nearby countries will likely surpass current targets by 2030

The revised ECDC mandate will allow the agency to take a stronger role in supporting the EU and its Member States in the prevention and control of communicable disease threats and improve European preparedness for future health challenges.

Commission welcomes agreement on a stronger European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control

By: EBR | Tuesday, November 30, 2021

European Parliament and the Council reached an agreement on a reinforced role for the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC)

Eurostat said emissions totalled 867 million tonnes of CO2 equivalent from April to June this year, up sharply from the same period in 2020 when lockdowns across Europe brought emissions to their lowest levels ever recorded.

Europe’s emissions rose nearly a fifth as economy bounced back

By: EBR | Tuesday, November 30, 2021

Greenhouse gas emissions from EU countries jumped by 18% last spring, according to data from Eurostat, Europe’s statistics office, as the economic sector recovered from pandemic shutdowns and returned to releasing climate-damaging gases into the atmosphere

A tool to open up non-EU public procurement markets to EU firms.

International public procurement: a new instrument to support EU firms

By: EBR | Tuesday, November 30, 2021

The Trade Committee adopted its position on the draft international procurement instrument aimed at restoring the balance of opportunities for EU companies tendering outside the EU

ESSP will enable real-time verification of the data of mobile workers by the national authorities of the member state they intend to work in.

Digital Europe: MEPs call for quick introduction of EU social security pass

By: EBR | Friday, November 26, 2021

MEPs demand a legislative proposal from the Commission for a European social security pass before the end of 2022, to reduce the administrative burden on mobile workers

MORE ARTICLES

German analysts warn that the coalition agreement is more for domestic consumption.

Germany’s New Government Upends the Status Quo

By: EBR | Friday, November 26, 2021

A new coalition in Germany has ambitious plans to modernize a country that slipped into complacency and risk aversion. Its newfound energy could give the EU a much-needed impulse

The draft directive on a minimum wage aims to lay down minimum requirements to ensure an income that allows for a decent standard of living for workers and their families.

Minimum wage: green light to start negotiations with Council

By: EBR | Friday, November 26, 2021

MEPs on Thursday decided to start talks on a directive that will guarantee all workers in the EU a fair and adequate minimum wage

“Τhe very nascent market needs other forms of low-carbon hydrogen to replace fossil-based hydrogen,” Kempener said, citing “low-carbon hydrogen produced from natural gas with carbon capture and storage or the production of hydrogen from low-carbon electricity, like nuclear power.”

Nascent hydrogen market needs low-carbon nuclear power: EU official

By: EBR | Friday, November 26, 2021

As Europe rediscovers the merits of nuclear power as a low-carbon source of electricity, policymakers in Brussels are now looking to leverage the non-stop generation of atomic energy to ramp up the production of low-carbon hydrogen

"The European Union has an immense superpower that its officials sometimes forget to use: industries, sectors, and stakeholders more often than not respond effectively to the issued regulations, rules, and directives".

A piecemeal approach on energy standards for buildings won’t work

By: EBR | Thursday, November 25, 2021

Decarbonising Europe’s building stock requires robust Minimum Energy Performance Standards (MEPS), not a piecemeal approach that fails to regulate buildings that are ripe for renovation projects

"MEPs highlight EU’s dependence on imports of resources needed for digital and green transitions".

Critical raw materials: The EU should secure its own supply

By: EBR | Thursday, November 25, 2021

To boost an autonomous and sustainable EU supply of materials needed to produce key technologies, MEPs call for diversification, more recycling and domestic sourcing

New policy strengthens biodiversity and adheres to EU environmental and climate laws and commitments.

Common Agricultural Policy reform gets final approval from MEPs

By: EBR | Wednesday, November 24, 2021

On Tuesday, Parliament gave the green light to the new EU Farm Policy. This reformed version aims to be greener, fairer, more flexible and transparent

The EU executive’s proposal came as part of a July package of climate legislation and was sold as a way to ensure the most vulnerable households are included in the green transition.

Europe’s social climate fund too small to make a difference, critics say

By: EBR | Wednesday, November 24, 2021

The European Commission proposed a “social climate fund” to protect vulnerable people from changes brought by the energy transition. Still, it is not fit for purpose

While politicians made shiny, green promises at COP26 in Glasgow, EU decision-makers were discussing a top priority list containing 30 fossil gas infrastructure projects (so-called Projects of Common Interest, PCIs) worth €13 billion.

Another list of priority gas projects won’t help the EU achieve fossil free energy

By: EBR | Tuesday, November 23, 2021

Europe’s continued support for fossil fuels, like in the 5th projects of common interest (PCI) list, risks damaging the environment, but decision-makers could be about to make the same mistake in negotiations on the rules for supporting cross-border energy infrastructure

The UN Framework Convention on Climate Change is unequivocal describing the 2015 Paris Agreement as a “legally binding international treaty on climate change”.

Is the Paris Climate Agreement legally binding? Experts explain

By: EBR | Tuesday, November 23, 2021

One question has long dogged the Paris Agreement, the 27-page accord that set the terms for this month’s climate negotiations at COP26: Is it legally binding?

A draft EU carbon strategy, first obtained by French news site Contexte, aims to contribute towards the EU’s climate effort by removing CO2 from the atmosphere and “pave the way for a policy of negative emissions in the future”.

LEAK: EU strategy seeks to remove carbon from atmosphere

By: EBR | Tuesday, November 23, 2021

The European Commission will reward green farming practices like afforestation and soil conservation while putting rules to identify activities that “unambiguously remove carbon from the atmosphere”

Energy poverty is not just an issue in Europe.

Energy crisis could worsen poverty for millions of Europeans

By: EBR | Monday, November 22, 2021

Energy prices have skyrocketed in the past months, increasing the concern that millions of Europeans will have to choose between paying their bills and putting food on the table this winter

The last comprehensive review of the pharmaceutical legislation was tabled almost 20 years ago.

The review of the general pharmaceutical legislation: an opportunity that should not be missed?

By: EBR | Monday, November 22, 2021

This year, the end of December will not only mark the Holiday rush, preparation of family gatherings and last attempts to buy presents – at least for the healthcare policy specialists

The EU taxonomy is a recently adopted classification system, establishing a list of environmentally sustainable economic activities.

3 ways to expand EU taxonomy and accelerate green transition

By: EBR | Friday, November 19, 2021

The EU taxonomy is set to be a game changer for the deployment of the Green Deal in Europe

The preliminary figures are €169.5 billion in commitment appropriations and €170.6 billion in payment appropriations.

EU Budget 2022 deal: investing more for a strong recovery

By: EBR | Wednesday, November 17, 2021

MEPs have fought for and obtained better support for health, research, climate action, SMEs and the young in next year’s EU budget, after talks with Council on Monday

Pages: Next

EU Actually

European Commission’s ‘woke’ U-turn

N. Peter KramerBy: N. Peter Kramer

At the end of October, Helena Dalli, the Maltese European Commissioner for Equality launched ‘Commission guidelines for inclusive communication’

View 03/2021 2021 Digital edition

Magazine

Current Issue

03/2021 2021

View past issues
Subscribe
Advertise
Digital edition

Europe

Far-right Zemmour makes Le Pen look normal

Far-right Zemmour makes Le Pen look normal

After several months of artificial suspense, radical right Eric Zemmour officially entered the 2022 French presidential election race to “save” the country on Tuesday (30 November)

Business

A Different Kind of Family Firm Hiding in Plain Sight

A Different Kind of Family Firm Hiding in Plain Sight

The data show that a family that previously owned a firm can continue to control it for generations

MARKET INDICES

Powered by Investing.com
All contents © Copyright EMG Strategic Consulting Ltd. 1997-2021. All Rights Reserved   |   Home Page  |   Disclaimer  |   Website by Theratron