Edition: International | Greek
MENU

Home » Europe

Voters’ forecast shift to the hard right is set to upset if not reverse policies that have been central to the European project for decades.

Hard-right’s EP election wins may have a silver lining

By: EBR | Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Unless the opinion polls have got it very wrong, next month’s European elections will trigger a massively disruptive ‘Blame Game’ within the EU

Twenty days before the vote that could change the balance in the EU, Meloni outlined a “model” to be implemented in the next European legislature: uniting the right-wing parties in Europe.

Meloni seeks to unite Europe’s right parties, edges closer to Le Pen

By: EBR | Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Italian Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni reiterated her mission to unite Europe’s right-wing parties in an interview on Monday

Speaking at a summit for “Global Solutions” in Berlin on Tuesday, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz (SPD/S&D) called the transformation of economies towards climate neutrality “irreversible”.

‘It’s the economy, stupid’: Scholz, German leaders get real on costs of climate transition

By: EBR | Wednesday, May 15, 2024

While all eyes were on Xi Jinping’s visit to Europe earlier this week – with China’s state subsidies to green industries particularly in the spotlight – leaders in Berlin debated how the global transition towards climate neutrality affects the economy

“Despite the growing evidence of looming ecological collapse (…) European governments and EU politicians are blocking new measures to protect nature and tearing up ones already in place,” it continues.

NGOs unite against EU’s rollback of green policies for the agrifood sector

By: EBR | Wednesday, May 15, 2024

Hundreds of civil society organisations decried the recent reversal of EU sustainability policies for the bloc’s agrifood sector in an open letter

“We should move forward as a union, and we are all committed to doing so,” Gentiloni said after the meeting of eurozone finance ministers in Brussels.

Gentiloni: If no EU consensus, member states will set up smaller-scale capital markets union

By: EBR | Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Member states keen on integrating their capital markets will likely move ahead by themselves if no EU-wide consensus can be reached, European Commissioner for Economy Paolo Gentiloni said

Take Poland. Here is what Sikorski told the Sejm about the country’s role in NATO and the EU, and its own defense.

Making European Defense an Imperative

By: EBR | Thursday, May 9, 2024

Europeans still lack a common vision for how to ensure the continent’s security

France’s president embodies this question in several ways. He is the EU’s only national leader of global stature who sets out a strategic vision for Europe. Also, he must leave the Elysee Palace three years from now and will, at only 49, be looking for work.

Was Macron’s Sorbonne speech an unspoken EU leadership bid?

By: EBR | Thursday, May 9, 2024

By accident, or perhaps by design, Emmanuel Macron’s recent Sorbonne speech was a litany of familiar woes pointing to the European Union’s greatest but unacknowledged problem

Serbian President Aleksandar Vucic and government officials welcomed Xi at the Belgrade airport, where he was greeted by a military guard of honor and folk dancers. The two leaders will hold a meeting on Wednesday.

China’s Xi Jinping visits Serbia on anniversary of 1999 NATO bombing

By: EBR | Wednesday, May 8, 2024

Chinese President Xi Jinping arrived in Serbia on Tuesday escorted by MIG-29 jets in a tightly secured visit coinciding with the 25th anniversary of the NATO bombing of China’s embassy

The alignment between the centre and hard right parties on the contentious issue of climate shows that a post-election deal is a real possibility.

EU elections: Alignment on climate shows that door remains open for EPP-ECR coalition

By: EBR | Wednesday, May 8, 2024

Ahead of June’s EU elections, the EPP’s official thinktank and the ECR have set out their positions

The parties reacted to von der Leyen’s comments made during the Maastricht Debate of lead candidates on 29 April, where she did not discard collaborating with hard-right European Conservatives and Reformists group (ECR), the political family of Italian Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni and Poland’s Law and Justice party.

EU Socialists, Greens, Liberals warn von der Leyen: No to hard-right alliance

By: EBR | Wednesday, May 8, 2024

The European Socialists, Greens, and Liberals have all shut the door to European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen’s reelection if she decides to cooperate with the hard-right ECR party

They attributed these difficulties to “unnecessary bureaucratic hurdles” that EU countries would face if the rules were enforced without classifying countries or regions into three different categories (high, standard and low) based on the risk of deforestation.

Austria’s farming, economy ministers urge von der Leyen to delay EU anti-deforestation law

By: EBR | Tuesday, April 30, 2024

Austria’s agriculture and economy ministers have urged European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen to postpone the implementation of the new EU anti-deforestation regulation

Progress on the EU track is no remedy for the chronic crisis besetting Bosnian politics, which is a legacy of the Yugoslav war. Milorad Dodik, president of Republika Srpska (RS), Bosnia’s Serb-majority entity, is a real thorn in the side of Christian Schmidt, the international community’s high representative, and of the West.

Polarization Threatens to Derail Bosnia’s EU Ambitions

By: EBR | Tuesday, April 30, 2024

Bosnia finally has some good news. On March 21, the European Council gave the country the green light to start membership talks with the EU

The EU wants to have at least 30 million zero-emission cars on European roads by 2030, or about 12% of the current car fleet. However, the European Court of Auditors (ECA) cautioned the bloc may create new economic dependencies and hurt its own industry.

EU’s 2050 net zero goals at risk as EV rollout faces setbacks

By: EBR | Thursday, April 25, 2024

The EU needs to rethink its policies to make a 2035 ban on new petrol car sales feasible as electric vehicles (EVs) remain unaffordable and alternative fuel options are not credible, the EU’s external auditor said

Fourteen of the EU’s 27 heads of government converged next to the Atomium in Brussels for the first Nuclear Energy Summit, co-organised by the International Atomic Energy Agency and the Belgian presidency of the EU Council.

Nuclear gains favour in Europe, but financing struggles remain

By: EBR | Thursday, April 25, 2024

Though EU countries remain divided about nuclear power, the insecurity brought on by the war in Ukraine has sparked increased interest from politicians not seen in decades

While the agreement has the support of the Left, Greens, Socialists (S&D), and Liberals (Renew), the European People’s Party (EPP) submitted amendments to reject the new body, arguing that it was “poorly negotiated”. However, all of EPP’s amendments were rejected by the committee.

Centre-right EPP fails to topple EU ethics body against tight majority

By: EBR | Wednesday, April 24, 2024

The centre-right European People’s Party’s attempt to block the adoption of an agreement to create an ethics body overseeing all of the EU institutions failed

Hundreds of thousands of military-age Ukrainian men are living abroad and the country faces an acute shortage of troops against a larger, better-armed enemy nearly 26 months since Russia’s full-scale invasion.

Ukraine to deny consular services to military-age men living abroad

By: EBR | Wednesday, April 24, 2024

Ukraine suspended consular services for military-age male citizens until 18 May, criticising Ukrainians abroad who it said expected to receive help from the state without helping it battle for survival

In contrast to the ‘stop the boats’ mantras of southern European countries and the UK, 69 per cent of respondents in Eurobarometer’s most recent (2022) survey urge active efforts to integrate migrants.

Migration will decide the EU elections: True or false?

By: EBR | Tuesday, April 23, 2024

The European elections will be won or lost on the issue of immigration

After the special council meeting came to a close on Thursday (18 April), Michel said that “substantial” decisions were taken after a “profound” discussion, highlighting three particular areas in which agreements were reached – greater harmonisation of insolvency frameworks, the “targeted convergence” of business conditions across the bloc, and the “strengthening” of EU-level financial market supervision.

A ‘difficult’ summit: Corporate tax, single supervision scrapped from conclusions

By: EBR | Friday, April 19, 2024

European Council President Charles Michel said the EU leaders’ competitiveness summit was tough, but significant decisions were still taken

As airlines try to sell themselves as greener than their competitor, how can claims about their fuels be verified?

Can citizens trust sustainable aviation fuel?

By: EBR | Wednesday, April 17, 2024

The market for low-carbon fuel for aeroplanes is still nascent, but it’s growing

“But we need a European Union that is fit for today’s and tomorrow’s world. What I’m proposing… is radical change.”

Draghi: EU must enact ‘radical change’ as US and China refuse to ‘play by the rules’

By: EBR | Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Europe must undergo “radical change” to remain competitive in the face of China and the United States’ refusal to “play by the rules” of international trade, the former president of the European Central Bank Mario Draghi said

Pages: Previous Next

EU Actually

Von der Leyen on the way to continue her Commission Presidency

N. Peter KramerBy: N. Peter Kramer

The results of the EP election are strengthening von der Leyen’s reappointment bid

View 04/2021 2021 Digital edition

Magazine

Current Issue

04/2021 2021

View past issues
Subscribe
Advertise
Digital edition

Europe

Macron/Le Pen: Cohabitation in France?

Macron/Le Pen: Cohabitation in France?

The outcome of the snap elections to the French parliament, to be held in two rounds on June 30th and July 7th, is uncertain

Business

The new type of smart, sustainable entrepreneurship and the next day

The new type of smart, sustainable entrepreneurship and the next day

Both retail and industry go hand in hand with the new type of smart entrepreneurship as they are at the level of rapid developments and changes spearheaded by the new circular economy and sustainable development

MARKET INDICES

Powered by Investing.com
All contents © Copyright EMG Strategic Consulting Ltd. 1997-2024. All Rights Reserved   |   Home Page  |   Disclaimer  |   Website by Theratron