Edition: International | Greek
MENU
Voters’ forecast shift to the hard right is set to upset if not reverse policies that have been central to the European project for decades.

Hard-right’s EP election wins may have a silver lining

Unless the opinion polls have got it very wrong, next month’s European elections will trigger a massively disruptive ‘Blame Game’ within the EU

What all the above means is that Europe needs to strategically acknowledge how such premises no longer apply.

Europe’s Inability to Manage Instability

It has been a tumultuous few weeks inside the EU and beyond

The first that the UK will not be involved with. Yet in a way we will be involved because the outcome will shape our relations with each other.

EU elections: UK looks on from the “outside”

There is something fundamentally depressing about the forthcoming EU elections

Von der Leyen has taken a different course at the last minute under pressure from farmers revolts all over the EU and the upcoming elections. The above-mentioned centre-left coalition was and is still furious about her move.

Ursula for President

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen is on a re-election campaign tour along EU capitals

Twenty days before the vote that could change the balance in the EU, Meloni outlined a “model” to be implemented in the next European legislature: uniting the right-wing parties in Europe.

Meloni seeks to unite Europe’s right parties, edges closer to Le Pen

Italian Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni reiterated her mission to unite Europe’s right-wing parties in an interview on Monday

MORE FEATURES

Speaking at a summit for “Global Solutions” in Berlin on Tuesday, German Chancellor Olaf Scholz (SPD/S&D) called the transformation of economies towards climate neutrality “irreversible”.

Europe

‘It’s the economy, stupid’: Scholz, German leaders get real on costs of climate transition

Wednesday, May 15, 2024

While all eyes were on Xi Jinping’s visit to Europe earlier this week – with China’s state subsidies to green industries particularly in the spotlight – leaders in Berlin debated how the global transition towards climate neutrality affects the economy

more on Europe

“Despite the growing evidence of looming ecological collapse (…) European governments and EU politicians are blocking new measures to protect nature and tearing up ones already in place,” it continues.

Europe

NGOs unite against EU’s rollback of green policies for the agrifood sector

Wednesday, May 15, 2024

Hundreds of civil society organisations decried the recent reversal of EU sustainability policies for the bloc’s agrifood sector in an open letter

more on Europe

Hungary under right-leaning Orban has become an important trade and investment partner for China, in contrast with some other EU nations that are considering becoming less dependent on the world’s second-largest economy.

World

Xi Jinping says China-Hungary relations an ‘all-weather’ strategic partnership

Wednesday, May 15, 2024

China and Hungary will embark on a “golden voyage” in bilateral relations, Chinese President Xi Jinping said after meeting Hungarian Prime Minister Viktor Orban on the third and final stop of his first European tour in five years

more on World

RECOMMENDED

“We should move forward as a union, and we are all committed to doing so,” Gentiloni said after the meeting of eurozone finance ministers in Brussels.

Europe

Gentiloni: If no EU consensus, member states will set up smaller-scale capital markets union

Tuesday, May 14, 2024

Member states keen on integrating their capital markets will likely move ahead by themselves if no EU-wide consensus can be reached, European Commissioner for Economy Paolo Gentiloni said

Erdogan had every opportunity to become a great leader of a great nation – but fell victim to his irrepressible need for self-aggrandizement, entirely tactical use of religious zeal and ever-growing lust for power.

World

Erdogan’s Golden Opportunity

Thursday, May 9, 2024

Turkey’s President Erdogan could have emerged from the Israel-Hamas war as a peacemaker

Take Poland. Here is what Sikorski told the Sejm about the country’s role in NATO and the EU, and its own defense.

Europe

Making European Defense an Imperative

Thursday, May 9, 2024

Europeans still lack a common vision for how to ensure the continent’s security

Strategic partnerships—defined here as relatively loose cooperation frameworks with important regional or global players—are critical. These actors’ comprehensive engagement with the EU in a multilateral context can generate positive outcomes for tackling multifaceted global challenges.

Analyses

Rethinking the EU’s Strategic Partnerships in Times of Crisis

Thursday, May 9, 2024

Amid the complex and rapidly evolving challenges in global security, the EU is faced with the need to find innovative solutions through collaboration with key global players within a multilateral framework

MORE ARTICLES

France’s president embodies this question in several ways. He is the EU’s only national leader of global stature who sets out a strategic vision for Europe. Also, he must leave the Elysee Palace three years from now and will, at only 49, be looking for work.

Europe

Was Macron’s Sorbonne speech an unspoken EU leadership bid?

Thursday, May 9, 2024

By accident, or perhaps by design, Emmanuel Macron’s recent Sorbonne speech was a litany of familiar woes pointing to the European Union’s greatest but unacknowledged problem

more on Europe

Serbian President Aleksandar Vucic and government officials welcomed Xi at the Belgrade airport, where he was greeted by a military guard of honor and folk dancers. The two leaders will hold a meeting on Wednesday.

Europe

China’s Xi Jinping visits Serbia on anniversary of 1999 NATO bombing

Wednesday, May 8, 2024

Chinese President Xi Jinping arrived in Serbia on Tuesday escorted by MIG-29 jets in a tightly secured visit coinciding with the 25th anniversary of the NATO bombing of China’s embassy

more on Europe

China opened an anti-dumping investigation into brandy imported from the European Union in January, sparking fears cognac could suffer a similar blow to that taken by Australian wine when China introduced tariffs of up to 218.4%.

World

Chinese tariffs could leave cognac makers with too much brandy

Wednesday, May 8, 2024

High Chinese tariffs on EU brandy would leave French companies with vast amounts of cognac that could be hard to sell elsewhere

more on World

The alignment between the centre and hard right parties on the contentious issue of climate shows that a post-election deal is a real possibility.

Europe

EU elections: Alignment on climate shows that door remains open for EPP-ECR coalition

Wednesday, May 8, 2024

Ahead of June’s EU elections, the EPP’s official thinktank and the ECR have set out their positions

more on Europe

The parties reacted to von der Leyen’s comments made during the Maastricht Debate of lead candidates on 29 April, where she did not discard collaborating with hard-right European Conservatives and Reformists group (ECR), the political family of Italian Prime Minister Giorgia Meloni and Poland’s Law and Justice party.

Europe

EU Socialists, Greens, Liberals warn von der Leyen: No to hard-right alliance

Wednesday, May 8, 2024

The European Socialists, Greens, and Liberals have all shut the door to European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen’s reelection if she decides to cooperate with the hard-right ECR party

more on Europe

EU Actually

Ursula for President

N. Peter KramerBy: N. Peter Kramer

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen is on a re-election campaign tour along EU capitals

View 04/2021 2021 Digital edition

Magazine

Current Issue

04/2021 2021

View past issues
Subscribe
Advertise
Digital edition

Europe

EU elections: UK looks on from the “outside”

EU elections: UK looks on from the “outside”

There is something fundamentally depressing about the forthcoming EU elections

Business

Retail sector trends for 2024

Retail sector trends for 2024

With the effects of climate change and geopolitical turmoil dominating the headlines in 2023, trying to make sense of how the retail industry will be affected in 2024

MARKET INDICES

Powered by Investing.com
All contents © Copyright EMG Strategic Consulting Ltd. 1997-2024. All Rights Reserved   |   Home Page  |   Disclaimer  |   Website by Theratron