Edition: International | Greek
MENU
With Ukrainian forces short of ammunition and forced to retreat in some areas, Kyiv’s ability to repel Russia’s invasion depends heavily on Western military, financial, and political backing.

Toward a Ukraine settlement?

Is public opinion in EU countries pushing toward a settlement in Ukraine?

The Code of Conduct for EU Commissioners states: ‘All options, including alternative time tables, should be carefully considered so that the aircraft is considered only as a last resort’.

President von der Leyen: big user of private planes

EU Commission President Ursula von der Leyen flew 23 times on a private plane last year

Some of the protesters’ demands are the same all across Europe. Most of them relate to specific needs.

Map: farmers protests lead to concessions almost everywhere

Since the start of 2024, farmers have been demonstrating in almost every European country, winning concessions from national governments and opening the debate on measures at the EU level

The value of the warehouse is maximized as well as its location as ‘just in time’ and ‘delivery’ (fast and timely delivery) are now the dominant criteria for purchasing choices on the part of the Customer.

Fast- moving retail in the new demanding era

Retail in the new era is changing its face, spearheaded by the new circular economy and sustainable growth

On the other hand, POS systems process and utilize information about both the type of customers and the product categories they choose.

Artificial intelligence and competitiveness in the retail sector

The importance of AI and machine learning in the retail market is confirmed by the projected dramatic growth of AI services worldwide, which will skyrocket from $5 billion to $30 billion by 2030

MORE FEATURES

The event is scheduled to take place on Wednesday, March 13, 2024, at Grand Hyatt Athens, commencing at 16:30 Hrs.

Events

NAVIGATOR SHIPPING CONSULTANTS Presents NAVIGATOR ASSEMBLY 2024: "FORGE THE FUTURE"

Friday, March 1, 2024

Navigator Shipping Consultants is thrilled to announce the NAVIGATOR ASSEMBLY 2024, themed "FORGE THE FUTURE"

more on Events

More specifically, the Commission has room for “improving the evidence trail of the assessment process by documenting better how the Commission decides which inputs to rely on and which issues to report on, and how it assesses the seriousness of those issues,” the report reads.

Europe

EU Commission’s rule of law reporting lacks transparency, auditors say

Thursday, February 29, 2024

While EU auditors found that the European Commission ’s annual rule of law reporting lacks transparency and accountability, EU lawmakers have voiced concerns about its susceptibility to political influence

more on Europe

Although Macron clarified already on Monday, following a gathering of European leaders in Paris, that there was ‘no consensus’ on the matter, his words stood in stark contrast to the Western European ‘red line’ when it came to putting boots on the ground in Ukraine.

Europe

EU capitals pour cold water on Macron’s ‘Western troops in Ukraine’ remarks

Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Several EU capitals, including Berlin, Warsaw, and Madrid, dismissed remarks by French President Emmanuel Macron, who had suggested that a future deployment of Western troops in Ukraine should not be ultimately “ruled out”

more on Europe

RECOMMENDED

So much so that the next European Parliament probably can’t be counted on to support some of the EU’s key ambitions. But disparaging populist policies as morally distasteful and unworkable clearly hasn’t worked, so it’s time to re-examine the reasons for their success and fashion a Europe-wide response to it.

Europe

Defeating populism: First, admit there are reasons for its success

Tuesday, February 27, 2024

There’s no denying that populist parties are popular with more and more voters

A research note by the Lille-based IESEG School of Management found “statistical evidence that the EU sanctions are massively circumvented” for so-called “high priority items”, which are subject to EU export restrictions and include manufacturing equipment and electrical components with potential military applications.

World

EU sanctions on Russia ‘massively circumvented’ via third countries, study finds

Tuesday, February 27, 2024

EU sanctions on Russia are being “massively circumvented” via third countries, a study revealed

France is supporting Ukraine’s NATO membership and explicitly conceptualizing EU enlargement to Ukraine and Moldova as a geopolitical tool.

Analyses

France and Central Europe Are Converging on Security

Tuesday, February 27, 2024

France and Central Europe have often stood on opposite sides of European foreign policy debates

The consumer revolution that took place in Great Britain in the 18th century, inextricably linked to the development of retailing, was a dynamic phenomenon with mass characteristics that brought about a series of institutional changes in the political social status quo of Western societies.

Analyses

Cultural background and entrepreneurial spirit in retail

Friday, February 23, 2024

Country’s cultural background has always been negative to any entrepreneurship initiative, i.e. in the case of retail what prevailed was either the aversion to activity that involved business and the incrimination of profit, or the elevation of the retail job as a transitional phase

MORE ARTICLES

“PM Rutte has a deep understanding of the importance of the alliance, is a natural leader and communicator, and his leadership would serve the Alliance well at this critical time.”

World

Dutch PM Rutte in strong position to lead NATO with US, UK, French and German backing

Friday, February 23, 2024

The United States, Britain, France and Germany all backed outgoing Dutch Prime Minister Mark Rutte to succeed Jens Stoltenberg as the head of NATO

more on World

And there are other reasons to pass the baton over to the Eastern flank. It’s not only because these countries have increased their defense spending and rightly warned about Russia’s imperialist ambitions under Vladimir Putin.

Analyses

NATO’s New Boss Should Come From the Eastern Flank

Friday, February 23, 2024

Western Europeans have always held NATO’s top job

more on Analyses

The speeches of German Chancellor Olaf Scholz and Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky—and the distance between them—reflected the general mood.

Europe

The Slippery Slope of Speculating on Ukraine

Friday, February 23, 2024

Compared to 2023, the atmosphere at this year’s Munich Security Conference was much more somber

more on Europe

We should not repeat that error: US LNG is essential now for Western security for decades to come, and our leaders must say so and not stay quiet just for an easier life. Complacency today will preface crises tomorrow.

Europe

US ‘pause’ on new LNG exports undermines the energy security of its European allies

Friday, February 23, 2024

The US administration’s decision to suspend the granting of permits for new liquefied natural gas (LNG) export terminals will have major consequences for the energy security of the EU

more on Europe

“As real-economy investments reached €407 billion in 2022, this leaves a European climate investment deficit of €406 billion per year, or 2.6% GDP,” the report states, adding that investments “must still double for the EU to hit 2030 climate targets”. Frederic Simon has the details.

Europe

Climate investment gap looms over next EU mandate

Wednesday, February 21, 2024

If the EU’s 2030 climate goals are to be met, an annual investment gap of €406 billion must be filled, according to new research

more on Europe

EU Actually

VDL: Commission President and Candidate

N. Peter KramerBy: N. Peter Kramer

A week ago, at a press conference, Commission President von der Leyen nixed talk about the next step for Ukraine’s membership of the EU before this June’s EU Parliamentary elections

View 04/2021 2021 Digital edition

Magazine

Current Issue

04/2021 2021

View past issues
Subscribe
Advertise
Digital edition

Europe

Map: farmers protests lead to concessions almost everywhere

Map: farmers protests lead to concessions almost everywhere

Since the start of 2024, farmers have been demonstrating in almost every European country, winning concessions from national governments and opening the debate on measures at the EU level

Business

Artificial intelligence and competitiveness in the retail sector

Artificial intelligence and competitiveness in the retail sector

The importance of AI and machine learning in the retail market is confirmed by the projected dramatic growth of AI services worldwide, which will skyrocket from $5 billion to $30 billion by 2030

MARKET INDICES

Powered by Investing.com
All contents © Copyright EMG Strategic Consulting Ltd. 1997-2024. All Rights Reserved   |   Home Page  |   Disclaimer  |   Website by Theratron